David Hillyard & The Rocksteady 7 – Playtime

We’re very excited to announce the release of Playtime, the first ever vinyl pressing of David Hillyard & The Rocksteady 7‘s debut album, originally released in 1999 by Hellcat Records. The album hits the shelves at fine record stores everywhere on June 21st. An “Indie Exclusive” cream colored vinyl edition, limited to 200 copies, will be available exclusively at independent record stores. The album will be widely available on black vinyl.



David Hillyard & The Rocksteady 7 have been blending their unique mix of Jamaican music and jazz for over twenty years. Band leader David Hillyard (The Slackers, Hepcat) has assembled a rotating team of expert players for both studio sessions and live shows, featuring such recurring members as Larry McDonald (Carlos Malcolm, Lee Scratch Perry, Toots & the Maytals), Eddie Ocampo, Vic Ruggiero (The Slackers), and more. Playtime features vocal performances from Hepcat crooners Alex Desert and Greg Lee.


Side A:
A1. Sidney’s March
A2. Hillyard Street
A3. The Fool
A4. Father And Son
A5. Playtime
A6. Angry Lady

Side B:
B1. Ugly Man Blues
B2. Norwegian Wood
B3. Skavez
B4 Peace