Record Store Day 2019: The List

The list is here! Record Store Day is quickly approaching, and we’re thrilled to announce a selection of nine exclusive pressings, including records from some of our favorite artists, past and present. You can read about each of the releases below. As a reminder, Record Store Day falls on Saturday, April 13th. Find your local participating store(s) on Record Store Day’s website.



Various Artists – Sun Records Curated by Record Store Day, Volume 6

This limited edition compilation LP was curated from the classic Sun Record Company catalog by participating Record Store Day stores, and marks the sixth installment of the Sun Records Curated by Record Store Day series. Volume 6 highlights many of the incredible female artists in the Sun Records archive. The track list was carefully curated by the hardworking people in record stores themselves. This Record Store Day 2019 exclusive release is limited to 4,000 copies worldwide.


Cecil Taylor – The Great Paris Concert

Cecil Taylor has always been considered one of the most daring and radical improvisers within the jazz genre, often pushing the boundaries with avant-garde and free jazz compositions. The Great Paris Concert is no exception Taylor’s reputation. The artistic communication between the players of Taylor’s quartet is second to none, and it’s certainly palpable on every track of the album. Echoing each other’s melodies, and ‘battling’ each other with solos, the group may have never sounded better. This historic concert – long out of print on vinyl – has been remastered by Infrasonic Mastering, and is presented across two 180gram white color LPs, complete with photos and liner notes.


Art Ensemble of Chicago – The Spiritual

The Spiritual, a free jazz album recorded by the Art Ensemble of Chicago in 1974, finds the group of stellar musicians at their creative peak. With various types of percussion, though the absence of a traditional drummer, the ensemble is able to create vivid, freeing compositions without the confines of conventional structure. The quartet, consisting of Joseph Jarman, Roscoe Mitchell, Lester Bowie, and Malachi Favors, explore the depths of Avant-Garde Jazz through a means that has yet to be touched on in a comparable capacity. The Spiritual was remastered at Infrasonic Mastering and pressed on 180gram red color vinyl at Pallas Group in Germany, the first vinyl pressing in over four decades.


Fat Lip – The Loneliest Punk

The Loneliest Punk is the debut solo album by Fatlip (of the seminal LA hip-hop group The Pharcyde). The album was originally released on Delicious Vinyl records 2005. The album was produced by acclaimed hip hop producer J-Swift (who was responsible for The Pharcyde’s debut album, Bizarre Ride II the Pharcyde) and producer Squeak E. Clean, among others. It features guest MCs Chali 2na (of Jurassic 5) and Shock G (aka Humpty Hump). Out of print since its original release in 2005, the album is coming back to vinyl with this swirl color pressing, exclusively for Record Store Day 2019. The vinyl includes a digital download of the entire album and more.


William Hooker – Mindfulness

Recorded live at Slim’s in San Francisco, Mindfulness is the brilliant soundscape created by drummer William Hooker, along with Glenn Spearman on tenor saxophone and DJ Olive. The five Hooker compositions flow into each other, one after another, seamlessly, as if to take the listener on a musical voyage through time and space. The layers of vibrant sound, accompanied by trashing drums and shrieking sax show the incredible ability of each musician to take their instrumental vocabulary to a new level. The album receives its first ever vinyl release with this 2xLP pressing on clear vinyl, featuring two unreleased bonus tracks, exclusively for Record Store Day.


Chad Smith & Josh Klinghoffer – Jeepster / Monolith

Chad Smith and Josh Klinghoffer team up to cover two T. Rex classics on this limited edition 7” vinyl release for Record Store Day 2019. Klinghoffer takes on guitar, bass, and vocal duties, with Smith on the drums. The release is limited to 3,000 copies worldwide.


Ocampo, Ocampo + Watt – Apparatus b/w Better Than a Dirtnap

Mike Watt releases on Record Store Day have become an annual tradition (biannual if you’re counting Black Friday), and for good reason. On the latest project, Ocampo, Ocampo + Watt, he teams up with Devin and Renata Ocampo. Devin hails from Dischord band The Effects. The trio performed together for the first time at DC venue The Black Cat’s 25th anniversary show. Their debut 7” release comes just in time for Record Store Day 2019. Half of the pressing, randomly shipped, comes on electric blue color vinyl.


Johnny Adams – Heart & Soul

Originally released in 1969, Heart & Soul is a stunning compilation of hits by American blues musician Johnny Adams. The 11-track album, produced by Shelby Singleton, contains various songs recorded between 1962 and 1968. The unique blending of 1960’s gospel, soul, pop, blues, funk, and country has lead critics to deem the collection as some of Adams’ finest and most astonishing work. The album was remastered for vinyl by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering, and pressed on blue color vinyl at Pallas Group in Germany, exclusively for Record Store Day 2019.


Winter – Infinite Summer

The Infinite Summer EP shows a more playful 80’s spin on Winter’s already nostalgic sound. This bilingual release, with songs in both English and Portuguese, is uplifting and fresh. With fun dream pop songs such as “Everything” and “Bonsai” as well as introspective tracks like “Always Teenager” and “Disappear,” there’s a little something for everyone. The indie pop tunes were recorded at the former Echo Park Lolipop Records studio produced by Wyatt Blair. The release, limited to 1,000 copies worldwide, comes on a ‘double mint’ color pressing.