Record Store Day 2020: The List

[UPDATE: Record Store Day 2020 has been postponed to various weekends in August, September and October due to concerns about the coronavirus. Official statement here.]

The list is finally here! Record Store Day 2020 is approaching, and we're thrilled to announce ten incredible releases, including brand new music and reissues from some of our favorite artists, past and present. You can read about each of the releases below. As a reminder, RSD now falls on three different Saturdays: August 29th, September 26th, and October 24th. Find your local participating stores on Record Store Day's website.

Sun Records Curated by Record Store Day, Volume 7

This limited edition compilation LP was curated from the classic Sun Record Company catalog by participating Record Store Day stores, and marks the seventh installment of the Sun Records Curated by Record Store Day series. Volume 7, Sunrise on the Blues, highlights some of the incredible blues artists in the Sun Records archive. While the iconic label is best known for launching the careers of superstars like Elvis and Johnny Cash, Sam Phillips' Sun Records initially started as a  rhythm and blues label. The track list for this compilation was carefully curated by the hardworking people in record stores themselves. This RSD 2020 exclusive release is limited to 4,000 copies worldwide. [Drop Date: August 29th]


Marion Brown - Porto Novo

Altoist Marion Brown is perhaps best known for performances on albums by his contemporaries, such as Coltrane's Ascension, but Brown stands on his own as one of the most creative and important forces to come out of the 1960s avant-garde jazz movement. Porto Novo is widely regarded as one of Brown's best recordings, captured during a 1967 session in Holland at the peak of his creative powers, accompanied by bassist Maarten van Regteben Altena and drummer Han Bennink. Previously out of print for decades, the recording has now been remastered for a long-overdue reissue on audiophile-grade red color vinyl, exclusively for Record Store Day 2020. Mastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering, and pressed at Pallas Group in Germany. [Drop Date: August 29th]


WÜRM - Poison b/w Zero Sum

Würm was formed in 1973 by bass player Chuck Dukowski, who later co-founded Black Flag. Inspired by the response to the retrospective compilation album, Exhumed (released for Black Friday 2018), Würm has reunited in 2020! Their first new recordings in nearly 40 years can be heard for the first time on this RSD exclusive 7" vinyl release. [Drop Date: September 26th]


Jimmy Sweeney - Without You

For over 60 years, no one knew who sang “Without You,” a demo that influenced Elvis Presley’s early recordings. Finally, Jimmy Sweeney has been identified as the mystery singer with the captivating voice; a talented, yet overlooked artist who can now claim his rightful place in rock ‘n’ roll history. In addition to “Without You”, this limited edition compilation features some of Sweeney’s best recordings, many of which were never released to the public. The release features a 12 page booklet with photos and extensive liner notes from Christopher Kennedy, the writer and musician who identified Sweeney as the mystery singer. The recordings have been restored and remastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering. [Drop Date: September 26th]


Lagniappe Sessions, Vol. 2

Launched in 2005, the blog Aquarium Drunkard has become a daily destination for many on a never ending quest for musical discovery. In 2011, Aquarium Drunkard established The Lagniappe Sessions, featuring some of the site's favorite artists covering some of their favorite artists. Released for RSD Black Friday in 2016, Lagniappe Sessions Volume 1 brought these sessions to vinyl for the first time. We have now teamed up with Aquarium Drunkard for a second volume of the series, featuring an eclectic group of artists including Kevin Morby, Mikal Cronin, Mountain Goats, Damien Jurado, and many more. The record, limited to 1,500 copies worldwide, comes on clear vinyl exclusively for Record Store Day 2020. [Drop Date: August 29th]


Sock-Tight - Smudge

Bass legend Mike Watt has a resume that is hard to top, with credits including the Minutemen, fIREHOSE, and the Stooges, among many others. Raymond Pettibon is an award winning visual artist and one of the most prominent cover artists around. Together they are Sock-Tight, a band from the past for the future. Two friends with different working and communication patterns, united in the belief that culture and art are meant to be a social act and in the hands of all people. Sock-Tight's first full length album is due out for Record Store Day 2020. The gatefold jacket, which features four art pieces from Raymon Pettibon, is reason enough to pick up a copy. Half of the pressing, randomly shipped, will come on blue color vinyl, with the other half on standard black vinyl. [Drop Date: August 29th]


Jimmy Giuffre 3 - Graz 1961

Jimmy Giuffre’s early collaborations with pianist Paul Bley and bassist Steve Swallow resulted in music that was far more complex and experimental than jazz audiences of the time had come to expect. While Giuffre may not be a marquee name, he should certainly be credited as one of the innovators who helped redirect jazz into new forms of improvised activity beginning in the early 1960s. This performance, recorded on October 27, 1961 in Graz, Austria, is a perfect example of that innovation. Licensed from Hat Hut Records, this title is receiving its first ever vinyl pressing. The concert audio was mastered for vinyl at Infrasonic Mastering, and pressed across two 12” audiophile-grade LPs at Pallas Group in Germany. [Drop Date: October 24th]


Infectious Grooves - Take U On A Ride EP

Infectious Grooves, the funk/metal supergroup led by Suicidal Tendencies frontman Mike Muir, is back! Take U On A Ride (EP) features three unreleased tracks from 1995 along with their first newly recorded song in years. Infectious Grooves features bassist Robert Trujillo (Metallica), drummer Brooks Wackerman (Avenged Sevenfold), Dean Pleasants (Suicidal Tendencies), and other veteran players. The band will play HELLFEST in France this June. The EP comes on 12" transparent orange color vinyl, mastered at 45RPM, exclusively for Record Store Day 2020. [Drop Date: October 24th]


Mia Doi Todd - GEA

Los Angeles based singer/songwriter Mia Doi Todd's critically acclaimed 2008 album, GEA, will finally make its vinyl debut with a limited pressing on green color vinyl, in celebration of Record Store Day and Earth Day 2020. Todd is at her best on GEA, both in terms of songwriting and arrangements, with help from co-producers Carlos Niño and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. The album has been remastered for vinyl, and the packaging features an updated version of her original cover art, along with a printed inner sleeve with lyrics. A portion of the proceeds will be donated to to offset the carbon footprint of this release. [Drop Date: August 29th]


Nat Turner Rebellion - Laugh To Keep From Crying

The first ever full-length release from Nat Turner Rebellion, a Philly Soul group who broke up before their first LP could be completed, is finally coming to record stores. Laugh to Keep From Crying compiles the group's sought-after singles and a wealth of never-released material, which had been sitting in vaults since the early '70s. As a group on the forefront of the 1970s Philly Soul explosion and the backend of the 1960s Black Power movement, their music acts as a portal to a unique moment in the revolutionary soul music scene. This album is their long overdue first dispatch. [Drop Date: August 29th]