This long awaited release presents over a dozen previously unissued masters of surprisingly high quality from the premier artist on the American Music label, Bunk Johnson. The venues for the recording sessions varied between the legendary 1944 sound of the San Jacinto Hall to the homes of Bertha Gonsoulin in San Francisco and George Lewis in New Orleans.

The album receives its first ever vinyl pressing, spread across two LPs, on transparent blue color vinyl for Record Store Day 2018. The recording were remastered for vinyl at Infrasonic Mastering and pressed at Pallas Group in Germany. The inside spread of the gatefold jacket features extensive liner notes.


Track Listing


  1. Ballin’ the Jack
  2. Careless Love
  3. Panama
  4. Good Morning Blues


  1. Royal Garden
  2. (I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My) Sister Kate
  3. Ole Miss
  4. Oh! Didn’t He Ramble


  1. Just a Closer Walk with Thee
  2. St. Louis Blues
  3. Basin Street Blues
  4. Maple Leaf Rag


  1. Bunk’s Blues in F
  2. Slow Drag’s Boogie Woogie
  3. Don’t Fence Me In
  4. Milenberg Joys


Find a Store