Freddie Hubbard entered Creed Taylor’s studio for the third time in 1971 with the express purpose of making a record radically different from anything he’d cut before; he was looking for it to use electricity and to be out of the soul-jazz mold, but was also more ambitious and wanted to push that envelope and himself. Taylor and Hubbard assembled a band that included Herbie Hancock, Eric Gale, George Benson, Ron Carter, Jack DeJohnette, Airto Moreira, and Richard Wyands. Now it’s available in its essential form, mastered from analog tapes and pressed on 180g vinyl at Pallas. Each jacket in this limited edition pressing of 2,000 copies is numbered with a gold foil stamp.


Track Listing

  1. First Light
  2. Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey
  3. Moment to Moment
  4. Yesterday’s Dreams
  5. Lonely Town
  6. Fantasy in D


Buy LP at Merchnow