Never before been pressed to vinyl, Shirley Horn’s Softly is reflective of the album’s late night recording sessions at Peirre Sprey’s home recording studio in rural Maryland, aptly named Mapleshade Studio. The 1988 release is commonly referred to as one of Horn’s most introspective and emotionally intensive records to date. With her sidemen Charles Ables (bass) and Steve Williams (percussion) gathered into a quaint, pastoral living room full of recording equipment, the trio plowed through the tunes, tracking almost until dawn. The album was remastered for vinyl at Infrasonic Mastering and pressed on audiophile-grade vinyl at Pallas Group in Germany.


Track List

A1 Since I Fell For You
A2 You’re My Thrill
A3 How Long Has This Been Going On?
A4 My, How The Time Goes By
A5 Summer (Estate)
B1 Forget Me
B2 I Watch You Sleep
B3 Softly, As I Leave You
B4 Dindi


Preorder From Our Online Store