In 1979, with disco, glam, progressive and other music styles becoming more prevalent, rock music needed a statement. It got one. Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers third album, Damn the Torpedoes was not only a breakthrough but a masterpiece as well. And in the face of the changing landscape of rock music, a statement that classic, blues based guitar rock was never going away. Petty outdoes himself with the song writing and the Heartbreakers prove they are far more than just a backing band, forming a tight unit to perform songs that run the gamut of life: Hard times, love won and lost, and redemption.

With Jimmy Iovine’s standout production the album spent seven weeks at #2 on the Billboard charts and charted two Top 20 singles in “Refugee” and “Don’t Do Me Like That.” This Deluxe Edition features the full original album remastered from the original analog master tapes and a second disc of rare and unreleased B-sides, alternate takes and live tracks.

Mastered for vinyl from the original analog master tapes at Bernie Grundman Studios. Deluxe vinyl package also includes: 9 bonus tracks including 7 previously unreleased gems Nowhere & Surrender (original …v…ersion) Refugee (alternate take), plus a demo and live tracks, 12 page full-color book, complimentary download of entire album in either 320k MP3, 24/96 lossless FLAC or Apple lossless formats, pressed on 2 audiophile quality 180g LPs byPallas in Germany.

  • For fans old and new, this edition features a RED color vinyl, 9 bonus tracks and a 12 p. exclusive booklet.
  • Mastered from original analog tapes by Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • 9 Bonus Tracks
  • 12 page exclusive booklet

Out Of Print