Unknown Instructors: Unwilling to Explain

We’re thrilled to announce the release of Unwilling to Explain, the forthcoming album from Unknown Instructors. Like previous albums, the line-up includes the former rhythm section of Minutemen and Firehose, bassist Mike Watt and drummer George Hurley, with Toledo-based poet Dan McGuire on vocals. On this fourth effort, the group adds guitarist J Mascis (Dinosaur Jr) to mix. Unwilling to Explain blends flavors of jazz, punk rock, spoken word, noise, and art-rock into one truly unique listening experience.

The release will be available on CD and digital formats beginning February 22nd, and on vinyl starting March 22nd. A purple color vinyl pressing, limited to 300 copies, will be sold exclusively at independent record stores. Pre-order the album HERE, and receive a free download code with purchase of a physical copy. A list of full credits for the album is below.



Dan McGuire • Vocals
J Mascis • Guitar
George Hurley • Drums
Mike Watt • Bass

Also on board:
Joe Baiza • Co-Vocals
Stephen Perkins • Percussion
Dan Wenninger • Saxophone
Stephan Haluska • Harp
Leah Jenssen • Cello

• Mike Watt recorded his bass at tHUNDERpANTS in San Pedro, CA during December of 2011
• Mike Watt recorded George Hurley’s drums at Casa Hanzo in San Pedro, CA during January of 2012, Pete Mazich helped him
• J Mascis recorded his guitar at Bisquiteen in Amherst, MA during April of 2015, Marc Seedorf helped him
• Dan McGuire recorded his vocals at Cleanest Dirty Shirt in Toledo, OH during July of 2016
• Mike Watt mixed this at tHUNDERpANTS in San Pedro, CA during September/October of 2018
• Dan McGuire and Mike Watt produced this
• Dave Gardner mastered this at Infrasonic Mastering
• Dan McGuire and Mike Watt wrote all the songs (2019 Prestidigitation [ASCAP] and. tHUNDERsPIELS [BMI]) except for all the words on 1 (Robert Frost) and half the words on 6 (Lou Reed)
• Mike Watt took the front cover photo
• Joff Jones did the back cover painting “Lost” and the inside paintings “Analog” and “Passenger”