Jesus People Music, Vol. 1: The End Is At Hand

We've heard from lots of people who were disappointed that they missed out on the Record Store Day Black Friday edition of Jesus People Music, Volume 1: The End Is At Hand. Well, now you're in luck! We're pressing up another run, this time on "wine" color vinyl, limited to 500 copies. The release will be available in stores on April 9th, and it's available for pre-order now: 


Jesus. People. Music.
That was the sequence of things. First the faith, experiencing a revival in the Summer of Love. Then, people gathered in song, raising their voices over the rock & roll sounds that came naturally to them. All along the West Coast, then throughout the country, tiny fires of the Holy Spirit began catching among longhaired youths. Their fellow hippies labeled these countercultural Christians “Jesus Freaks,” but before long, Jesus People were self-identifying using the term.

‘The End Is At Hand’ is the first volume in a series of compilations that exemplify the sound of the Jesus People movement of the 1960’s and 70’s in America. From Spokane, Washington to northern New Jersey, devoted musical groups were ebracing the psychedelic overtones of the bohemian lifestyle, and intertwining their faith with the spirit of the times. The need to proclaim the End of Days produced some of the most fiery music of the genre—fuzzy hymns backed by cosmic choirs and heavy psych populated with frightening scenes from the Book of Revelation—but the songbook and its lyrical focus was varied, populated with lo-fi loner folk, simmering with yearning hope, and tripped out countrified songs about eternal devotion as well.

1. Azitis - Creation, Lord I Saw You Cry 05:18
2. Frank Starr - Jesus 02:29
3. Wilson McKinley - Almighty God 03:13
4. Maranatha - Deeper Than the Mighty Rolling Sea 04:48
5. U.S. Apple Corps - Will The Circle Be Unbroken 03:44
6. Bob Desper - The World Is Crying For Love 03:15
7. PITCH & SPICE - Hallelujah 02:44
8. Out Of Darkness - Walk On The Water 04:57
9. Earthen Vessel - Life Everlasting 04:13
10. The Messengers - The Right Way 04:48
11. Jim Valley - All Is Well 03:33
12. Rebirth - Into The Light 04:03