Westbound Records: The Counts and Eramus Hall

We're excited to announce the next two titles in our Westbound Records reissue campaign. Next up are two of the rarest and brightest jewels in the Westbound crown:  The Counts’ What’s Up Front That-Counts, available October 27 on CD, black vinyl, and limited edition “lavender marble” vinyl. Eramus Hall’s Your Love Is My Desire, available January 12 on CD, black vinyl, transparent red “RSD Essential” edition, and limited edition “sunkissed yellow” vinyl.  Both long-lost albums will be available digitally, making Eramus Hall available for the first time ever on streaming services. Pre-order now on your preferred format. 
Working with the original Westbound Records master tapes at the iconic 54 Sound studio in Detroit, these legendary recordings have been remastered by award winning engineer Dave Gardner with restoration and tape transfers by archival specialist Catherine Vericolli, and additional engineering assistance from in-house 54 Sound engineer Nick King.
In 1971, after dropping “Fabulous” from their moniker, The Counts delivered their first full-length platter for Westbound. What’s Up Front That-Counts is indisputably one of the funkiest albums of all time, with its conga-led grooves, impassioned vocals and strutting in-the-pocket arrangements.  Sampled by Queen Latifa (“Mama Gave Birth to the Soul”) and Eric B. & Rakim (“Relax with Pep”), This seminal, forward-thinking album is an indispensable soundtrack perfectly reflecting the decade that followed.  The reissue includes three previously unreleased bonus songs. 
A1 What's Up Front That-Counts
A2 Rhythm Changes
A3 Thinking Single
A4 Why Not Start All Over Again
B1 Pack Of Lies
B2 Bills
B3  Rhythm Changes Reprise*
B4 Shortsville*
B5 I Know Why*
*previously unissued

Eramus Hall's 1980 debut album Your Love Is My Desire is among the most sought-after records of the modern soul era, coveted by DJs and record collectors alike, with rare copies of the original pressing selling for up to $900. The soul/funk group only recorded one album for Westbound, before moving to Capitol for their second and final LP in 1984.
A1 Your Love Is My Desire
A2 She Shined A Light
A3 Feelin' Higher
A4 Think Positively
B1 Stuck In The Mudd
B2 Just Me 'N' You
B3 Funk Permit
B4 Super Funk
B5 Will You Love Me Tomorrow (As You Do Today)