Simple Syrup
Simple Syrup

Sunny War

Simple Syrup


Regular price $20.00 Save $-20.00
4 in stock
As Sunny War's newest masterpiece, Simple Syrup has a vibrant, loose feel, more focused on the interplay with the musicians than ever before. Sunny’s new songs touch on everything from romance to politics, jumping easily between larger concepts like the expectations for famous Black women in American art (“Like Nina”) and smaller ideas like “Kiss A Loser”, her ode to her own drunken self in relationships. Surrounded by relentless pressures from societal change, Sunny worked more closely with her community and embarked on a nearly year-long recording spree that brought two EPs (one of which, Can I Sit With You?, made a number of Best of 2020 lists) and now Simple Syrup. The pandemic has been a crucible for Sunny, burning away the parts of the old world that didn’t truly matter and leaving her with a new purpose.
Recorded in Venice, CA at Hen House Studios.
Produced by Harlan Steinberger.
Mastered at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios.

Black Vinyl LP

A1 Lucid Lucy
A2 Mama’s Milk
A3 Like Nina
A4 Kiss A Loser
A5 A Love So True
B1 Losing Hand
B2 Love Is A Pest
B3 Its Name Is Fear
B4 Deployed And Destroyed
B5 Eyes
B6 Big Baby

Release date is March 26th