The Man I Love
The Man I Love
The Man I Love

Johnny Griffin

The Man I Love


Regular price $27.00 Save $-27.00
11 in stock

Teamed up with pianist Kenny Drew, bassist Niels Pedersen and drummer Albert "Tootie" Heath for a club date at Copenhagen's Montmartre in 1967, the great tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin really stretches out on four numbers: "The Man I Love," "Hush-A-Bye," and "Blues for Harvey." Griffin shows why he was early on billed as "the world's fastest tenor" although he also displays warmth on "Sophisticated Lady." A fine example of Griffin's underrated talents. The album was remastered for vinyl from original analog tapes by Bernie Grundman, and pressed on audiophile-grade vinyl at Pallas Group in Germany.


  1. The Man I Love
  2. Hush-A-Bye
  3. Blues For Harvey
  4. Sophisticated Lady
  5. Wee