Mia Doi Todd

Ten Views Of Music Life


Regular price $25.00 Save $-25.00
20 in stock
Mia Doi Todd follows up her acclaimed album 'Music Life' with a set of stellar remixes, entitled 'Ten Views of Music Life.' Described by Dusted Magazine as "one of those artists that seem to function not just as creators in their own right, but as connecting links between other musicians," Mia did not need to look far to find world-class artists to remix her songs. The diversity of the resulting collection is also its strength. Despite a wide range of stylistic methodologies employed, the project feels cohesive and creates the impression of a magical world uniting around the purity of expression in Mia's voice. Her vocals and other elements from the original 'Music Life' tracks find themselves enveloped in entirely new landscapes, from Dntel's quirky electro-pop, to Julia Holter and Tashi Wada's pensive and heartfelt orchestration, to the inimitable, free-form disco-boogie touch of Georgia Anne Muldrow. There's an Afrobeat contribution from LA's Jungle Fire and a cinematic kaleidoscope from Carlos Nin~o & Friends, featuring Jamael Dean and Sharada Shashidhar. Brazilian producer Kassin gives a fresh twist to Mia's version of Gregory Isaacs' classic "If I Don't Have You." Pianist Vardan Ovsepian's brooding yet hopeful arrangement of "Take Me to the Mountain" ventures into the hills and valleys of sound, cradling Mia’s rich voice in subtle reharmonizations. The album includes contributions from some of Mia's longtime collaborators, such as Dntel and Carlos Nin~o, as well as from a younger generation of musicians, such as the brilliant up-and-coming producer Jamael Dean (here as Jira><, in addition to his keyboard work with Carlos) and Human Error Club (featuring Mekala Session of the Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra on drums). The cover artwork by Kozyndan portrays Mia as Benzaiten, goddess of music in the Japanese pantheon, with a wink to the Greek vase painting style of the cover of 'Music Life' - a visual remix, itself, of Mia's original artwork.

Track Listing:
A1 Wainiha Valley (Julia Holter & Tashi Wada Remix)
A2 Little Bird (Dntel Remix)
A3 My Fisherman (Belú Remix featuring Jungle Fire)
A4 Take Me to the Mountain (Vardan Ovsepian Remix)
B1 If I Don't Have You (Kassin Remix)
B2 Music Life (Georgia Anne Muldrow Remix)
B3 Take Me to the Mountain (Human Error Club Remix)
B4 Mohinder and the Maharani (Carlos Niño & Friends Remix featuring Jamael Dean & Sharada Shashidhar)