Various Artists

Atenção!: Novos Sons Do Brasil


Regular price $25.00 Save $-25.00
11 in stock
"Atenção!: Novos Sons do Brasil” (Attention! New Sounds of Brazil) is a compilation produced in collaboration between online audio journal Aquarium Drunkard and Org Music. This is not your typical Brazilian music compilation. These ten songs capture a new wave of musicians who are reinterpreting their country’s musical heritage in bold and divergent ways, generations removed from the familiar sounds of breezy bossas or psychedelic tropicália. While these songs don’t sound like bossa nova or Tropicália, they share the tradition of cultural collision, mashing styles from abroad and home indiscriminately, tearing down genre barriers. The release features the artwork of celebrated visual artist Robbie Simon, and includes an insert with extensive liner notes by Brazilian music scholar Allen Thayer.

1. Chico Bernardes - O Espelho
2. Tim Bernardes - Recomeçar
3. Irmão Victor - Reflexões Navais
4. Cavatento - Lagartia
5. Ana Frango Elétrico - Promessas e Previsões
6. Sessa - Dez Total (Filhos de Gandhy)
7. O Terno, Shintaro Sakamoto, Devendra Banhart - Volta e Meia
8. Kiko Dinucci - Olodé
9. Josyara, Giovani Cideira - Anos Incríveis
10. Metá Metá - Obatalá

Album Release Date is September 30th 2022