Peggy Lee

World Broadcast Recordings (1955)


Regular price $23.00 Save $-23.00
8 in stock
Peggy Lee was in top form in 1955, in every aspect of her career. As a vocalist, she was at her peak. Pete Kelly’s Blues (her best acting role) and Lady And The Tramp (she co-wrote six songs and provided the voices for four characters) were both set to be released. That same year, she recorded 49 selections as radio transcriptions for the World Program Service. These recordings were not released to the public, but used by radio stations with unexpected time to fill. Lee’s cool but inwardly heated voice is joined by frequent collaborators, pianist Gene DiNovi, guitarist Bill Pitman, Bob Whitlock or Don Prell on bass, drummer Larry Bunker, Ramon “Ray” Rivera on congas, harpist Stella Castellucci, and trumpeter Pete Candoli. This series compiles the best selections from those 1955 recordings. These select tunes were mastered for vinyl at Infrasonic Mastering and pressed at Furnace Record Pressing on pink color vinyl, originally only available for RSD 2021.

A1 It’s a Good Day
A2 That Old Black Magic
A3 Autumn in New York
A4 I May Be Wrong (But I Think You’re Wonderful)
A5 I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
A6 I Get a Kick Out of You
A7 What is This Thing Called Love?
B1 Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
B2 Me
B3 People Will Say We’re in Love
B4 What Can I Say After I Say I’m Sorry?
B5 Oh, What a Beautiful Morning
B6 Taking A Chance on Love
B7 Bye Bye Blackbird