Sun Ra Standards Gold Vinyl LP. Image has vinyl exposed to show the Gold Color. Album art is a artistic multi-faced being in a painted galaxy like background.

Sun Ra



Regular price $24.00 Save $-24.00
7 in stock

Sun Ra, the extraordinary, outlandish, and sometimes controversial pianist, is often described as an “acquired taste”, with a massive and diverse catalog. This release is a good place to start for uninitiated or dismissive listeners. The album showcases Ra’s grounding in the jazz tradition, with unique takes on standards like “Time After Time,” “Easy to Love,” and “But Not for Me”. Not unordinary for Sun Ra, the recording process was informal; “Can This Be Love?” was recorded in his Chicago apartment in 1955; he is accompanied only by the great Wilbur Ware on bass. The other five tracks, which feature, among others, Ra’s longtime associate John Gilmore on tenor saxophone, were recorded at the Choreographer’s Workshop rehearsal space in 1962 and 1963. The album was mastered for vinyl by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering, and pressed at Pallas Group in Germany.

Track List:
• Can This Be Love?
• Sometimes I’m Happy
• Time After Time

• Easy To Love
• Keep Your Sunny Side Up
• But Not For Me