The Complete 1931 Sessions
The Complete 1931 Sessions

Skip James

The Complete 1931 Sessions


Regular price $25.00 Save $-25.00
7 in stock
Skip James was a Delta blues artist from Mississippi. Known for his career during the Great Depression and subsequent decades, he was “rediscovered” and became much more widely recognized during the 1960’s when he was in very poor health nearing the end of his life. His playing style was primarily in a minor key, featuring complex fingerpicking. The compilation is made up of some of the earliest years of James' career, pulling from his historic Paramount sessions, and showcases the astounding talent he possessed from the very beginning. After years of being out of print, a remastered version of The Complete 1931 Sessions has been reissued, featuring new artwork and liner notes.
A1 Devil Got My Woman
A2 If You Haven't Any Hay Get on Down the Road
A3 Hard Luck Child
A4 Drunken Spree
A5 Little Cow and Calf Is Gonna Die Blues
A6 Be Ready When He Comes
A7 How Long "Buck"
A8 I'm So Glad
A9 Cherry Ball Blues
B1 Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues
B2 22-20 Blues
B3 4 O'Clock Blues
B4 Jesus Is a Mighty Good Leader
B5 Yola My Blues Away
B6 What Am I to Do Blues
B7 Special Rider Blues
B8 Illinois Blues
B9 Cypress Grove Blues